Home > Categories > Art and Entertainment > Authors > Julian Barnes's Biography

Julian Barnes's Biography

Browse biogs A-Z

English novelist Julian Patrick Barnes was born on 19 January 1946 in Leicester.

Julian Barnes was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2005 for his work, Arthur & George. Barnes had achieved this accolade twice before with Flaubert's Parrot and England, England.

After leaving Magdalen College, Oxford, Barnes became a lexicographer with OED Supplement from 1969 to 1972, from which time he filled a variety of high profile journalistic roles with the New Review, The New Statesman, The Observer, The Sunday Times and The New Yorker.

In 1980 Metroland was published. It won the Somerset Maughan Award the following year and established Julian Barnes as a writer.

Since then Barnes had written numerous books mainly under his own name but also as Dan Kavanagh. His wife is the literary agent Pat Kavanagh.

In 2008, Julian Barnes wrote Nothing to be Frightened of, which Julian Barnes's website describes as "a family memoir, an exchange with his brother (a philosopher), a meditation on mortality and the fear of death, a celebration of art, an argument with and about God, and a homage to the French writer Jules Renard."

In 2011, Julian Barnes's The Sense of an Ending won The Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Back to Top

Latest User CommentsAdd your comment
Add your comment
To ensure you are a real person and not a computer please enter the following characters shown below: