Home > 2016


In June 2016, the BBC announced the new Strictly Come Dancing professional dancer line-up for 2016.

It included six new dancers (three of which were only announced in July): AJ Pritchard, Chloe Hewitt, Neil Jones, Katya Jones, Oksana Platero and Gorka Marquez.

Returning to Strictly were Anton du Beke, Brendan Cole, Kevin Clifton, Pasha Kovalev, AljaĆŸ Škorjanec, Giovanni Pernice, Karen Clifton, Natalie Lowe, Joanne Clifton, Janette Manrara and Oti Mabuse.

Leaving the show were Ola Jordan, Aliona Vilani, Kristina Rihanoff, and Tristan MacManus.

In July 2016, the BBC announced that the judges and hosts would remain the same as the previous year, although they announced that 2016 would be the last series of Strictly with Len Goodman as a judge.

In August 2016, the BBC gradually release the list of names on the celebrity line-up: Lesley Joseph, Greg Rutherford, Tameka Empson, Ed Balls, Will Young, Laura Whitmore, Ore Oduba, Melvin Odoom, Louise Redknapp, Danny Mac, Daisy Lowe, Naga Munchetty, Anastacia, Claudia Fragapane and Judge Rinder.

Strictly Come Dancing - The Launch Show was broadcast on BBC One on Saturday 3 September 2016.

The final, broadcast on 17 December 2016, was won by Ore Oduba and Joanne Clifton.

It was the most-watched in Strictly's history, with an audience share of 53.5%.

Viewing figures peaked at 13.1 million, with an average of 11.8 million viewers.


Back to Top